update manpage entry for dumpheap to add dumpfile
authorSven Höxter <sven.hoexter@rewe-digital.com>
Fri, 28 Feb 2020 11:03:49 +0000 (12:03 +0100)
committerSven Höxter <sven.hoexter@rewe-digital.com>
Fri, 28 Feb 2020 11:22:45 +0000 (12:22 +0100)
Clarify how dumpheap option works and that it requires a dumpfile name.

debian/jattach.1

index a12608dfb1ef1ff7d7675d2fa41925eb8533b66d..22335f910150124640ad10e9a205a534adddf16a 100644 (file)
@@ -1,10 +1,10 @@
 .\"                                      Hey, EMACS: -*- nroff -*-
-.\" (C) Copyright 2019 Sven Hoexter <sven@stormbind.net>,
+.\" (C) Copyright 2019-2020 Sven Hoexter <sven@stormbind.net>,
 .\"
 .\" First parameter, NAME, should be all caps
 .\" Second parameter, SECTION, should be 1-8, maybe w/ subsection
 .\" other parameters are allowed: see man(7), man(1)
-.TH JATTACH 1 "September 06 2019"
+.TH JATTACH 1 "February 28 2020"
 .\" Please adjust this date whenever revising the manpage.
 .\"
 .\" Some roff macros, for reference:
@@ -40,8 +40,8 @@ show heap and thread summary
 .B threaddump
 dump all stack traces (like jstack)
 .PP
-.B dumpheap
-dump heap (like jmap)
+.B dumpheap mydumpfile.hprof
+dump heap (like jmap -dump:live,format=b)
 .PP
 .B inspectheap
 create a heap histrogram (like jmap -histo)